English Language Development Map

Please Choose Your State

Summit K12 Map "

English Language Development Map (ELD)

Frequently Asked Questions

ELD means English Language Development in education.

The Summit K12 English Language Development (ELD) Map is a resource we designed to support teachers who work with English Language Learners across the country in a classroom setting for grades K-12.

The ELD map offers a specific breakdown of English language development programs and regional standards by State covering grades K-12. The map also provides an overview of our personalized English language learning curriculum tied to each State’s unique program.

We created the ELD Map for ESL, Bilingual, Emergent Bilingual, and Multilingual educators. The map also provides helpful program information for school administrators, K-12 teachers, bilingual program coordinators, instructional coaches, principals, superintendents, district administrators, students, parents, and guardians.

Find your State and click on it. Use the legend to find your State’s regional program. Once you choose your State, you will find information about the State’s regional standards, our ELD curriculum information, resources, and various examples.

The programs and regional standards on the ELD map include Arizona AZELLA, Texas TELPAS, California ELPAC,  Mississippi LAS Links, LA ELPT, Kansas KELPA, LAS LINKS, KS KELPA, New York NYSELSAT, Various state for ELPA 21, and the remaining states are tied to WIDA. Choose your State to see how Summit K12 English Language Development program offerings can help your school district.

You can find State Regional standards at the following links:

Arizona: AZELLA

California: ELPAC

Texas: ELP


Mississippi: LAS LINKS

Kansas: KELPA


Oregon, Nebraska, Iowa, Arkansas, Ohio, West Virginia: ELPA 21

Remaining States: WIDA

In addition to providing unique State standards and program information, you will also see examples of Summit K12’s English Language Learning Development program, highlighting instructional strategies, assessments, accommodations, and resources tailored to each proficiency level and its regional standard. We provide this information so you can support all English Language Learners on their journey.

If you would like more information about the Summit Learning English Language Development Map, please contact us, and we’ll respond as soon as possible.

Frequently Asked Questions About English Language Development

States use different acronyms to describe their English language learners. The terminology we use to describe students who need English-language learning support in schools has changed over time – focusing on multilingualism as a significant benefit.

English Language Learners have different references/names in each State, and our map provides information for all English Language Learners.

Each acronym stands for the following:

ML – Multilingual Learner
EB – Emergent Bilingual
EL – English Learner
ELL – English Language Learner
ESL – English as Second Language Learner

English Language Learning terminology is vital to the community because it can affect learning policies. In the past, we used terms such as Limited English proficiency, which can send a negative message and challenge learning.

The acronyms stand for the following:

  • ESOL: English to Speakers of Other Languages
  • TESOL: Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages
  • TEFL: Teaching English as a Foreign Language

The map does not provide information about ESOL, TESOL, or TEFL programs or certification information.

What Educators are Saying about Summit K12

" )
" )

Explore Summit K12 Solutions